menu MENU
Hoorfar Law: Courts - Johnson County, Kansas

Johnson County, Kansas


Address 100 N. Kansas Avenue Olathe, KS 66061
Phone 913-715-3470
Fax 913-715-3401


Johnson County was one of the original 33 counties organized by the Territorial Legislature in 1855. It was not until September 17, 1857, that the county was officially organized by Reverends Thomas Johnson and William Johnson; Johnston Lykins; Isaac McCoy; Jonathan Meeker; Thomas E. Mulvane; William Williams; Rynear Morgan; William Holmes; J. D. Allen; J. C. Forest; and L. F. Bancroft. Named for Reverend Thomas Johnson, it contains the cities of Countryside, DeSoto, Edgerton, Gardner, Lake Quivira (part), Leawood, Lenexa, Merriam, Mission, Mission Hills, Olathe, Overland Park, Prairie Village, Shawnee, Spring Hill (part), Westwood and Westwood Hills.

The founding of Shawnee Methodist Mission and Indian Manual Labor School in 1839 was one of the most important events in the early county history. The Shawnee Methodist Mission was used as the basis for the novel, Seven Trees, by Janice Young Brooks.

The first church, other than the Mission, was established in Shawnee in 1840 and was known as the Old Log Church. The first county fair was held in Edgerton/Gardner (date unknown), and the first school districts were all formed at the same time through a state law.

Interesting public figures in the county are James Butler Hickok, who was a constable in Monticello Township before going on to fame as a scout and frontiersman. W. B. Strang, owner of the Strand Line, built the first self-propelled railroad motor car in the world. Three Territorial Governors served from the area including: Andrew Reeder (1855); Daniel Woodson (1855, 1856, 1857) and Wilson Shannon (1855-1856). Five governors of Kansas were from Johnson County: John Anderson, Jr.(1961-1965); Frank L. Hagaman (1950-1951); Robert F. Bennett (1973-1977); George Hodges (1913-1915); and John P. St. John (1879-1883). Serving as Congressmen from the county were Chauncey Little (1922-1927) and Larry Winn (1967- ). Earl E. OConnor served as a Justice of the Kansas Supreme Court (1965-1971) and Robert H. Miller (1975- ) currently is a Justice.

Information obtained from the website of the Kansas Historical Society

Attorney Fees

Speeding $125
Careless Driving $125
Driving While Suspended $125
Expired Tags $125
No Insurance $125
Warrant $125

Court Fines

Speeding $174.50, $204.50, or $244.50
No Insurance $229.50
No Drivers License $229.50